Book Now: 2017 IP Workshops

New Zealand's only dedicated workshop series for unintentional child injury prevention is back, and seats are going fast!

14 Safekids Aotearoa community workshops are confirmed, and the kaupapa or theme this year is Make Your Home a Safety Zone.

Venue

Date

Rotorua

Thursday 4 May

Taumaranui

Friday 5 May

Auckland – South

Thursday 11 May

Moerewa

Wednesday 17 May

Whangarei

Thursday 18 May

Tauranga

Wednesday 24 May

Taupo

Thursday 25 May

Hamilton

Friday 26 May

Invercargill

Wednesday 31 May

Christchurch

Thursday 1 June

Palmerston North

Thursday 15 June

Wairoa

Wednesday 2 August

Central Hawkes Bay

Thursday 3 August

Lower Hutt

Thursday 10 August

Porirua

Friday 11 August

Gisborne

Wednesday 16 August

Marton

Wednesday 23 August

Whanganui

Thursday 24 August

 

Safekids will present new information and resources:

  • National and regional data on child home injuries.
  • Māori and Pacific child injuries
  • The Safekids Safety Whare
  • Updates on the Pool Fencing and Tenancy Act
  • New data on dog bites, farm safety and child restraints

Each workshop will also include local child injury topics relevant to the community or region.

"There is no cost to register, and everyone with an interest in child safety should join," said Alessandra Francoia, Safekids Child Injury
Prevention Advisor

The workshops are particularly beneficial to community leaders, policy makers, health professionals, teachers, home visitors, injury prevention practitioners, Tamariki Ora providers, DHBs, councils, refugee and new migrant, and social support services.

To register for a workshop, email Victoria.Jarvis@adhb.govt.nz