Workshops and Events 2018

In 2017-18, Safekids Aotearoa is running workshops and Safety Whare events as part of the Home Safety Campaign, in partnership with Starship Foundation and ACC.

Child home safety workshops

New Zealand's only dedicated workshop series for unintentional child injury prevention is back, and seats are going fast!

The 2018 Safekids Aotearoa community workshops will be confirmed in a few weeks, and the kaupapa or theme this year is Make Your Home a Safety Zone.

Safekids will present new information and resources:

  • National and regional data
  • Child development
  • Brain injury (new topic)
  • Injury prevention
    • Falls
    • Poisoning
    • Burns
    • Suffocation
    • Drowning
    • Cutting, piercing and others.
  • Action plan
  • How to apply for grants
  • Safekids Coalitions.

  "There is no cost to register, and everyone with an interest in child safety should join," said Alessandra Francoia, Safekids Child Injury
Prevention Advisor

The workshops are particularly beneficial to community leaders, policy makers, health professionals, teachers, home visitors, injury prevention practitioners, Tamariki Ora providers, DHBs, councils, refugee and new migrant, and social support services.

Workshop Dates 2018

Wednesday 30 May, Whanganui
Cooks Garden Events Centre, Maria Place Extension

Thursday 31 May, Palmerston North
Hancock Community House, 77-85 King St, Palmerston North

Friday 1 June, Wairarapa
Wairarapa REAP, 340 Queen Street ,Rangitumau Room, Masterton

Wednesday 6 June, Auckland South
Papatoetoe Town Hall, 31 George Street, Papatoetoe

Wednesday 27 June, Rotorua
Civic Centre, 1061 Haupapa Street, Rotorua, Committee Room 2, Rotorua

Thursday 28 June, Taupo
REAP,73 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo

Friday 29 June, Tokoroa
Venue to be advised

Wednesday 4 July, Tauranga
BOPDHB Education Centre, 889 Cameron Road, Tauranga

Thursday 5 July, Tauranga
Venue to be advised

Thursday 5 July, Hamilton
Te R┼źnanga o Kirikiriroa, 59 Higgins Road, Dinsdale   

Tuesday 17 July, Nelson
Family Start room, 38 Halifax Street , Nelson

Wednesday 18 July, Auckland South
Ko Awatea Centre of Education and Innovation, Middlemore Hospital, Building 54, 
Meeting Room 203,54/100 Hospital Road

Thursday 19 July, Waipereira Trust
Waipareira Trust 331 Great North Rd, Henderson

Tuesday 24 July, Kaitaia
Far North REAP   33 Puckey Ave, Kaitaia

Wednesday 25 July, Whangarei
Ratu Room - Manaia PHO, 28-30 Rust Ave, Whangarei

Tuesday 31 July, Taumaranui
Taumarunui Community Kokiri Trust, 121 Hakiaha street, Taumarunui

Wednesday 1 August, Te Kuiti
Te Kuiti Family Health Whanau Ora Centre, 10A Ward street, Te Kuiti

Thursday 2 August, New Plymouth
Venue to be advised

Wednesday 8 August, Auckland West
Kowhai Room, Netball Waitakere, Te Pai Centre, 31-35 Te Pai Place, Henderson

Wednesday 15 August, Lower Hutt
Te Runanganui o te Atiawa ki te Upoko o te Ika a Maui
148 Whites Line East, Upstairs Room, Lower Hutt

Friday 17 August, Porirua
Maraeroa Marae Health Clinic

Wednesday 5 September, Christchurch                                                                                                                  Christchurch City Council Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch

    

Click here to register for a workshop 

or email safekidssupport@adhb.govt.nz for more information

Safety Whare Events

Safekids' Safety Whare is travelling around the country and attending events. 

For Safety Whare events coming up, visit the Home Safety page and click on "THE SAFETY WHARE: TOUR DATES AND VENUES".